fbpx

SLELO PRISM

Eastern Lake Ontario Symposium Resources

The Eastern Lake Ontario Invasive Species Symposium is a biennial event hosted by the St. Lawrence Eastern Lake Ontario Partnership for Regional Invasive Species Management (SLELO PRISM). It is a professional exchange of information that provides applicable and timely ways to support invasive species prevention and management initiatives while also enhancing the health and resiliency of the natural systems that make the St. Lawrence Eastern Lake Ontario region so special. 

Presentation slides, recordings, and resources from each symposium are provided below. 

SYMPOSIUM ARCHIVE

2021 Symposium Resources & Virtual Exhibits

June 23rd AM Session Resources: What We're Protecting

Session

Wednesday, June 23rd, 10:05 AM-Nature Knows No Boundaries

Rob Williams- SLELO PRISM Program Manager 

rwilliams@tnc.org 

<Presentation Slides>

Session

Wednesday, June 23rd 10:40 am- An Integrated Approach to Invasive Plant Management and Habitat Restoration For The Threatened American Hart’s-tongue Fern

Mike Serviss- Regional Conservation Project Coordinator- Central Region OPRHP

 Michael.Serviss@parks.ny.gov

<<Presentation Slides>>

Resources

NYS Parks FORCES website

USFWS hart’s-tongue fern recovery story

Session

Wednesday, June 23rd, 11:00 am- Protecting Native Lilies from an Invasive Pest

Paul Siskind- Master Naturalist 

 paul@paulsiskind.com

(315) 353-2389

<<Presentation Slides>>

Resources

If you find any wild populations of lilies (Lilium canadense, L. michigananse, L. philadelphicum, L. lancifolium) located within St. Lawrence county (or in nearby areas of Franklin or Jefferson counties), please contact me. 

 

IPM Control of Lily Leaf Beetle in Gardens

Report the presence of Lily Leaf Beetles in gardens

Submit lily leaf beetle larvae for testing to learn the presence of biological control wasps 

North American Lily Society Quarterly Bulletin June 2020

Session

Wednesday, June 23rd 11:20 am- Tribal Resource Connections to Landscapes and Ecological Communities

Leslie Benedict- St. Regis Mohawk Tribe

les.benedict@srmt-nsn.gov

<<Presentation Slides>>

 

Previous
Next

Session

Wednesday, June 23rd 11:35am- Restoring Native Habitats Through Invasive Species Management

Peter Zimmer- Thousand Island Region NYS Park

Peter.Zimmer@parks.ny.gov

<<Presentation Slides>>

Wednesday June 23rd PM Sessions:
Call For Collaboration

Session

Wednesday, June 23rd, 1:05pm- Leveraging iMapInvasives Data to Support State-wide Invasive Species Research Initiatives

Mitchell O’Neil-New York Natural Heritage Program/iMapInvasives

Mitchell.ONeill@dec.ny.gov

<<Presentation Slides>>

 

Session

Wednesday, June 23rd, 1:40pm- Enhancing Early Detection and Outreach for a Top Priority Invasive Pest-Spotted Lanternfly

Megan Pistolese-SLELO PRISM & Michael Gimbalvo- AGM

Megan.Pistolese@tnc.org 

Michael.Giambalvo@agriculture.ny.gov

<<Presentation Slides>>

 

Help Spread the Word About SLF

Share these premade spotted lanternfly infographics on your social media pages or websites. 

Thursday June 24th AM Sessions: Protecting Aquatic Ecosystems

Session

Thursday, June 24th 10:40am: Pathways of Invasion

Michale Glennon- Paul Smiths ADK Watershed Institute

mglennon@paulsmiths.edu

<<Presentation Slides>>

 

Resources

Session

Thursday, June 24th, 11:00 am- Investigating the Relationship Between Invasive and Native Mussels in the Lower Grasse River

Lauren Eggleston-Save the River

Lauren.Eggleston@parks.ny.gov

<<Presentation Slides>>

 

Resources

Coming soon 

Session

Thursday, June 24th, 11:25 am- Rearing Milfoil Weeviles Through Community Science

Sarah Trick- Indian River Lakes Watershed Coordinator

strick@indianriverlakes.org

<<Presentation Slides>>

 

Session

Thursday, June 24th, 1:05 pm- Sustaining Healthy Lands

Robert Smith- SLELO PRISM

Robert.l.Smith@tnc.org

<<Presentation Slides>>

Resources

Urban Forest Sustainability Initiative

Black River Trail Feasibility Study 

Biocontrol in SLELO PRISM

 

Session

Thursday, June 24th 1:40pm- Biocontrol in NYS and What’s Being Released in the SLELO

Carrie Brown-Lima – New York Invasive Species Research Institute-Cornell University

 cjb37@cornell.edu

<<Presentation Slides>>

 

Session

Thursday, June 24th, 2:00 pm- Developing a Plan to Protect the Dunes

Patricia Shulenburg- An Eastern Lake Ontario Dune Foundation Board Director

 pshulenburg@gmail.com

<<Presentation Slides>>

Session

Thursday, June 24th 2:15pm- Leveraging Aerial Imagery and Artificial Intelligence to Aid Invasive Species Detection Efforts 

Mike Rawitch-Ramboll Management Consulting

 mrawitch@ramboll.com

<Presentation Slides>

Share on facebook
Facebook

Rob Williams rwilliams@tnc.org 
PRISM Coordinator

MeganPistolese megan.pistolese@tnc.org 
Outreach and Education

Brittney Rogers brittney.rogers@tnc.org 
Aquatic Invasive Species Coordinator

Robert Smith robert.l.smith@tnc.org 
Terrestrial Invasive Species Coordinator

During this time the best way to contact our team is via email.

CONTACT US »